Talbot County Arts Council

About the Arts Council

Who Are We?

The Talbot County Arts Council is governed by a board of up to fifteen members who represent all aspects of the arts as well as the various geographical areas of Talbot County. Anyone interested in serving on the board should contact the Arts Council. Board members may serve a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms. Officers are elected annually. An executive committee, which manages the Arts Council between board meetings, is comprised of the president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer.

Board of Directors and Executive Director

Board of Directors

  • Patrick Rogan, President
  • Nancy S. Larson, Vice President
  • Ann E. DeMart, Secretary
  • Carl M.Tankersley,Treasurer
  • Janet J. Adams
  • Victoria Gomez Lozano
  • Pete Lesher, Talbot County Council
  • James T. (Ted) Mueller
  • William P. Peak, Jr.
  • Mary Ann Schindler
  • Amelia (Amy) Steward
  • Karla Wieland-Cherry

President Emeritus

Andrew H. Anderson

Executive Director

Joan Levy

Biographical Roster of Board of Directors and Executive Director – PDF

What Does the Board Do

The board's most important responsibility is to establish policies and make decisions on fund requests from arts organizations, arts programs in non-arts organizations, and from the schools, as well as on summer arts scholarships for highly qualified high school students. The Arts Council has allocated more than $2 million in local grants since 1987.

Board members are encouraged to attend and review funded arts events to see the benefits of our grants in action.

Monthly board meetings are held at the Arts Council offices in the county building at 215 Bay Street in Easton.

Accessibility Statement

The Talbot County Arts Council does not itself produce or present arts programs. Rather, we sub-grant funds provided by the State of Maryland, Talbot County, and the Towns of Easton, Oxford and St. Michaels to local nonprofit and government-related organizations for arts programs and projects. As a result, the Arts Council does not operate any facilities for arts programs, nor do we have administrative space open to the public.

Our mission statement includes the following paragraph: “The Arts Council has a special interest in supporting programs to bring the arts to underserved communities such as people in healthcare settings, the economically disadvantaged, persons with disabilities, and members of racial/ethnic minority groups.” We are fully committed to both the letter and spirit of the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Consistent with these principles, as well as with the requirements of the Maryland State Arts Council and the Americans with Disabilities Act, applicants for our grants must expressly indicate that their programs are offered in sites that are accessible to persons with disabilities and that they are otherwise in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

The meetings of our board of directors and arts-related workshops on our grant-making programs are held in local facilities that are open to the public and fully accessible to persons with disabilities. Usually this is at our offices in the county-owned building at 215 Bay Street in Easton. On all such occasions we will consider reasonable requests for special accommodations if submitted at least two weeks in advance. For such purposes, call 410-245-5195 or email jlevy@talbotarts.org.

Availability of Governing Documents

The Arts Council is committed to operating in a completely open and transparent manner. Accordingly, its governing documents are available for public review on request. These include but are not limited to by-laws, minutes of meetings, financial statements, funding requests to state, county, and town governments, funding requests to foundations, and the latest IRS Form 990 (Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax).